Tuesday, May 3, 2016

May the Fourth Be With You, on the Third

Anna Mitchell and I will discuss the Feast of the Martyrs of England and Wales this morning on the Son Rise Morning Show during the first of the local hours on Sacred Heart Radio in Cincinnati--then she will air the segment during the national EWTN on the Feast itself (in the dioceses of England). Today, I'll be on at 7:45 a.m. Eastern/6:45 a.m. Central; tomorrow sometime (TBD) between 6:00 and 7:00 a.m. Eastern and 5:00 and 6:00 a.m. Central.

I've often wondered why we don't celebrate this Feast, even as a Memorial or optional memorial in the USA. After all, we remember the great groups of martyrs in Mexico, in Japan, in China, in Korea, etc. Why don't we celebrate St. John Houghton and Companions on May 4 as we celebrate St. Charles Lwanga and Companions on June 3?

I wonder to whom I would suggest this addition to the Calendar in the USA?

I will post more about this feast tomorrow: May the Fourth be with you!


  1. Is it because the usa government is a pack of non-conformist (e.g. oliver Cromwell) and is more anti-catholic than our Anglican brothers.
    peace and love

    1. But this is not a secular calendar issue but a Church calendar issue and shouldn't have anything to do with the usa government!

    2. They clergy know how cruel the anti-Catholics in the usa are.

    3. In the English Speaking world one can only be a RC, C of E, or non-conformist...check it out on Wikipedia..also look at Orwell's 1984 as a history of The Catholic Church in England..one must read between the lines and also know the English Language..the American version of the English language is very limited..:))

    4. Your doing a splendid job.. please keep up the good fight.